Saturday, December 18, 2021

The Rich Short History Of "Rainbow Parade Cartoons" 1934-1936


This is rich animated cartoons at it's best short lived, in my opinion.
Many of the Rainbow Parade cartoons were one-shot stories, but several of the films featured, Parrottville Parrots, Molly Moo-Cow, Toonerville Folks, and Felix The Cat. Commonwealth Pictures bought the Cartoons in 1941 and was later played on television. In 2021, Thunderbean Animation in association with Blackhawk films and UCLA released a collection of the first 13 Rainbow Parade cartoons from the existing master materials, updating them from 2009.

Rainbow Parade was a medley of 26 animated cartoons produced by Van Beuren Studio and dispersed to playhouses by RKO between 1934 and 1936. They were all-color medley of cartoons and the final series produced by Van Beuren Studios. 

 Rainbow Parade (1934-1936), which featured new cartoon characters, Molly Moo Cow, and older ones, namely Felix the Cat, and Toonerville Trolley. This was the first of Van Beuren’s series and people fail in love with the animation which achieved both recognition and success. Also, this series is considered by many writers and scholars to bring the most sophisticated and visually creative cartoons out of all Van Beuren shorts.   Despite the success that Van Beuren Studios started to achieve with its series, RKO Radio Pictures studio’s distributor, decided in 1936 not to distribute Rainbow Parade Cartoons anymore, and as a result ended distributing for Van Beuren’s shorts.

Van Beuren was unable to find another distributor and was forced to close the studio in the same year.  The Van Beuren cartoons were sold to Officials Films, and Commonwealth Pictures. They changed the names of some of the characters and shorts and sold them for television release and home-movie distribution.

No comments:

Post a Comment